*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Now everybody's got a crazy notion of their own

Some like to mix up with a crowd, some like to be alone

I play other instruments but none make me as happy as my uke. And this book ('How to Play George Formby Ukulele Solos' by Dave Partington) is brilliant. I bought it years ago and still enjoy dipping into it.

A lot of ukulele players don't like GF but I unashamedly do. I've learned several of his solos - chord for chord, strum for strum. But it's not just about getting the notes, syncopation, finger-lifts and triples right, you've got to master all of that and then put it together and play at the same tempo as George too. It's a good job the solos don't last long as I tend to stop breathing when I'm playing them.

If you've always wanted to play an instrument but don't know where to start I would always recommend a ukulele. They are quiet, inoffensive and even if you just strum the open strings you have already mastered your first chord, C6!

They're also brilliant for mindfulness and your mental health. Like I always say, it's hard not to smile when you're playing a ukulele :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.