randomgirl

By randomgirl

An old toy

I remember how much I used to like playing with this children's till! I also remember how clunky and noisy it was when the money drawer opened, and the unfriendly metal edges and corners it had in places.

For the first time in quite a while I looked inside my Dad's old ivy covered garden shed today, just out of interest. I was taken aback by just how neglected looking it has become. The ivy is now trying to take over the inside too, and this till and the other items like my old tricycle and the tea party cups and saucers, have obviously not been moved or touched for a good few years now.

My Mum and Dad had put these old toys of mine and my sister's in the shed so that my daughters could play outdoors games with them when they were little. They were well used. Strange that even their childhood is now in the past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.