*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Word

I saw this quotation on facebook a week or so ago and it blew me away.

It can be taken literally, but I also read it as patriarchy and misogynism in general. Even in the 21st century, when a woman is brutally murdered on her way home from a friend's, some people's first concern is whether she was breaking lockdown rules. Or question why she was in that place. Or question why she was walking alone. And at that time of night.

That could have been me, or your wife, girlfriend, sister, daughter.

When will violence by men against women cease to be the woman's fault? When will we cease to be lectured about where we can go, and when, and with who and wearing what, and how much we're allowed to drink... and if we dare break any of these rules do we deserve to be assaulted or murdered? Are we "asking for it"?

Sorry for the heavy post. Sarah Everard's murder has really upset me today and this quotation just kept going round in my head so decided to create something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.