Whizz

Woke fairly early so just decided to get on with the day. Nipped to the shop to buy picnic things then home to prepare the lunch and over to V's to start our bike ride. Decided to be more modest in our ambitions today than our first ride of the year, and the new saddle certainly helped, so hopefully I won't be quite so whacked out by the end. Pretty cloudy but not bad and we headed to Roslyn - funny to remember the trip from last year when I was struggling along on the heavy hire bike - a lot easier on V's brother's bike which has very many gears!
When we got to the village we found a bench and settled into our picnic and a chat, about her adventures with the grandchildren yesterday and the various things I've done over the last couple of days.
Started to get a bit chilly then the rain started so we set off home - cold at first but it's hard to work out what to wear on these trips as a hill can quickly get you feeling hot and bothered! My new birthday cycling jacket from Mt&H worked well though and we soon warmed up when the rain stopped. I only took one photo -  snatched one of the graffiti tunnel but not very well composed as I was wobbling around on the bike and couldn't get very steady and had cramp in my leg as I was cold....V of course was watching doubled up with laughter at my contortions!
Managed 27km in the end which felt good and pretty easy cycling so we both felt that justified a bit of R&R later. I spent most of the afternoon on the phone - some of it whilst ironing - to Mt&H, A, and S on her birthday. Mt had made some doughnuts (I've never tried making them) and they looked delicious, and the kids had made the dinosaurs from the kits I'd sent them on Friday.
Made roast pork for a change for supper - in the oven now and I'm finally getting to head to the sofa - but I've enjoyed the day, spoilt with flowers and truffles which was lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.