pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Re-tread

I’ve been feeling very unsettled today, which has led to three separate walks, so at least I’ve been channelling the feeling of unease into an increased step count!

Whilst my own job is secure (despite my cynical desire to update my CV following a call from the MD to confirm that my job was secure) there are plenty of colleagues around me whose jobs are not, particularly the lady I blipped about yesterday.

I had a long conversation with her this morning where she broke down twice (I’ve still got it) and heart-breakingly apologised for it all being about her. I reassured her that no apology was necessary and that it was most definitely all about her. Everything is still so raw at the minute and whilst I genuinely believe that she will be fine in the long run, it wasn’t nice to hear someone in tears and being unable to engulf them in a reassuring hug.

The first walk was a leisurely stroll back from the dentist, the second a post conversation/lunch perambulation and the third was a good old fashioned out-of-the-door-at-5pm-with-the-camera-slung-over-my-shoulder walk down river. 

I took the small camera with me this time (Canon G16) and it was really nice to be using it again, despite its limited zoom function when I spotted a dipper. Grrrr. It is from that device that today’s image comes to you. I offer it up as an interpretive piece. S’art innit?

On the outward stretch I bumped into a friend out walking with her partner and she was good naturedly mean to me. On asking why she was always mean to me, she replied that I “would be confused if a lesbian was nice to me” which really made me laugh and had me chuckling for the remainder of my stroll. It also put me in mind of another great sentence which came from work last week “Sister Mary is expecting the same high level of service for her ride-on lawnmower”.

An early night and a new dawn should sort me out.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.