The second half of life..

By twigs

Bathtime and new learnings

Spent a considerable amount of time today reviewing, re-setting and re-learning how to use my camera after I found an old but a great article on my camera's autofocus system to shoot birds.  This was brought on to some degree by some of the frustrations I felt recently at Zealandia.  It's easy to blame the gear, but I know I have a good camera.  It must be the user then!  Or maybe it's a combination, so I began to explore some of the ways other users use to get magnificent instead of just OK results.  I've reset a few things now and have saved the changes as custom settings so all I have to do now is practise, practise and practise.  It feels weird to unlearn what I learned a few years ago (thinking I'd never get used to a new way of working!) but I know from that experience that practise pays.  

There was one part of the article that took me a while to figure but I finally got it........the writer raved about a little known setting and was mystified why s/he hadn't read about it in any Canon manuals.  If you're a Canon 5DIII user (maybe a IV user too?) check out the section on "AF area setup" just over half way down the page.  Check it out if you're interested.


Of course, I'm not going to proclaim this article as the solution to my issue just yet.......but I learnt a few things from it today so it has to be a good starting point.


So tomorrow.........I shoot birds!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.