WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Scruffy

Diet or no, I decided to go for the hot cross buns. I think Felicity Cloake's recipe is just about perfect, but after browsing through my HXB recipes courtesy of EatYourBooks I decided to try Nigella Lawson's from Feast, a neglected cookbook. I fiddled with it a bit, adding saffron because Felicity does and I love the flavour and colour it imparts, and substituting allspice for cloves because I hate cloves. Also added candied peel (and home-made candied kumquats) because why would you not have candied peel in them? The end result is a bit scruffy, but in my defence so is Nigella's.

Note for Arachne: I finally used the last of the out-of-date yeast you sent me a year ago!

PS we had a lovely sociable evening yesterday. The concert wasn't that great, but I Whatsapped with lapsed blipper Bundle, who had invited us, during the concert and then we had a lovely and unintentionally long Zoom catchup afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.