kirstymill

By kirstymill

Gran

My mum has been sorting through lots of old family photos over the last wee while, so we looked through some together today. They are fascinating to look through. This is a picture of my gran in her nurse's uniform when she was in her early 20s. It was taken when she was nursing in Addenbrook's hospital in Cambridge during the second world war. I think it may have been taken around 1943/44. I think it's a lovely photo and will have been taken around the time my gran first met my grandpa (he was in the medical corps, sent to Addenbrook's for training, met a lovely young nurse on the first day who offered to make him a coffee and the rest is history!). So the photo captures a real moment of history in many different respects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.