Now we have everything

By Gembop

Week 37

We're full term!

Today I celebrated with a visit to the midwife (everything is going well) and an eye test. Despite my worries that my vision has got worse, my prescription has stayed the same, so that' something. No jam jars for me just yet.

Today's pic didn't quite have the focal point I wanted, but unfortunately I didn't take any others so what the hell!

Despite being considered full term if he was born now, Bump hasn't finished growing yet. He's shedding the skin-protecting vernix and lanugo and producing more surfactant, a substance that prevents the air sacs in his lungs from sticking to one another once he starts to breathe. Most of the changes this week are small but important: He's continuing to add fat and fine-tuning his brain and nervous system.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.