The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Light Relief

On 22 Feburary 2013, Lazooligirl (and her Monkey) went along to the Heywood Gallery on Southbank to see Light Show, the current arty exhibit. I was so struck by her comments that I booked that very day. And today I went.

No photography and no touching, is the law here so no images of the artworks...though I reckon it would be very difficult to get a decent shot when most of them are just light. I think that's why you can't photograph them. The artists are worried their work will look like shit.

Anyway, I enjoyed it a lot. At times moving, sensory, surreal, bloody odd and generally a lot of what I call 'clever' art. That's not a judgement just what I call art which has some technology as part of it, making it appear 'clever'.

My favourite piece (and it's difficult to pick) is Jim Campbell's Exploded View (2011). Just incredible. At first it just appears to be a big block of suspended globes of light that go on and off but, if you stand at the right distance away and look directly at it, shadowy figures walk across it. Like shadows of commuters. I had to keep looking behind me to make sure there was no-one doing things behind me.

So, thank you Lazooligirl, I had a thoroughly enjoyable hour of clever arty stuff.

PS: I guess I should say that the image is just outside Wahaca, just around the corner from the Heywood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.