pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Blipsco 1000

I know. It’s been quite a journey and I’ve put you through a lot in getting to this moment, but let’s all take a moment to send me some money and contact information for your single friends.

I suppose it’s an arbitrary number really, but for a person like myself who is unable to apply themselves to ANYTHING over a long period of time, having a collection of 1000 anything IS an achievement, so it does mean something to me as does the continued support and kind words from those of you kind enough to spare some time to read about a middle aged man slowly unravelling on a daily basis.

I celebrated with a slow start whilst I thought about a run. Yeah, the sun was shining, but I also knew that it was bitterly cold outside and then Danse Macabre started playing on Classic FM, which was enough of a sign to convince me to remain in bed. I noodled about on Blip catching up on the Easter breaks of others and it was good to see bursts of colours and everyone clearly making the most of the good weather.

The 1000th blip also coincides with Simmo’s birthday, and as I know that she does read these things from time to time, this one is dedicated to the memory of her youth as it would be remiss of me not to acknowledge her big day. I won’t reveal just how old she is (*cough* bus pass *cough*) and instead shall simply say that she is a timeless classic. 

I feel I have used the day well, I watched Jack Reacher again (the fact that Tom Cruise cast Tom Cruise in the role of a six foot plus, red headed, ex-military policeman is hilarious) and also enjoyed the fact that there is a character in it called Martin Cash which is also the name of a friend acquaintance this guy I know who is a fan of Jack Reacher.

I also squeezed in a very wheezy, lethargic run and there were three things that made me smile or cry with laughter today, which I thought merited sharing:

I took a walk into town to get some essentials (bacon and bread to put the bacon in and brie to accompany the bacon within the bread) and wandered back with the sun on my face and Richard Hawley playing in my ears and nailing my life.
Ron Swanson treating vegan bacon with the disdain it so richly deserves. 
Ron Swanson lighting the torch.


I would say “here’s to the next 1000” but I think you guys have been through enough to commit to that.

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.