Bulb Field, Ooltgensplaat

The 'oo' sounds like 'owe', so 'oldgensplaat' with a 't' instead of a 'd'.  And maybe that's the ancient meaning, too -- 'old something place'.

These tulips, though, are assuredly very new and fresh and they put a big smile on my face.  Had to tiptoe on some mud just to get to them, but the pleasure of taking shots made it so worth the effort.  After that field, drove further along that border of South Holland, almost to Zeeland ('Zayland') looking for more, and there is a narrow patch in Oude Tonge I might do another day.  Tomorrow, though, I think I will head north to the great, wide fields near Lisse, Nieuw-Vennep, and Hillegom.  Should there not be any, I can always pass by a windmill.

An otherwise ordinary day with AW.  Time goes by just as quickly when you don't have a 9-to-5 job.  There is something I picked up online and thought to share here:

Internalized Capitalism looks like:
> Feeling guilty for resting
> Your self-worth is largely based on doing well in your career.
> Placing productivity before health
> Believing that hard work = happiness
> Feeling lazy, even when you're experiencing pain, trauma, or adversity.
> Using busyness as a way to avoid your needs

Looks like I will have some food for thought again on the road sometime soon.  I think simple truths like flowers are worth looking for.  They exist because they are meant to be found, and appreciated, and loved, and to help and comfort us both in times of crisis and in times of peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.