Had my first jab

Last week I was starting to wonder why I hadn't received an invitation to have the vaccination against Covid-19. Then on Thursday I got an email from the Deputy Chief Medical Officer, which read like a message to lots of staff even though it appeared to be addressed just to me. Saying that I would get a text or an email by the end of Monday.

But I didn't. S yesterday I tried to contact the appropriate person(s) and was frustrated by (for example) giving all my details to the person who answered my call, only for her to then say that although she works for the Covid Help-Line, she couldn't help me. So I behaved like a classical senior doctor and got our clerical assistant to make the appropriate calls for me.

She found out that I had just been sent an appointment for 0700 on Wednesday 14 April. Told her that I really couldn't manage that given the traffic, so it was instantly changed to 0730. Which I accepted. And despite an "incident" blocking a lane on the motorway for a while. I got there with time to spare. I've now had the first (of two). Some minor discomfort at the injection site, but nothing else of note.

I was very impressed with the slick organisation getting so many people through quickly and without undue fuss. I am now a card carrying semi-vaccinated person. Having had to have a smallpox vaccination certificate to be able to travel overseas when I first did so, I see only good from having to carry a card stating one's vaccination status.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.