Fabulous

Pootled around a bit in the morning, posted a card to my cousin and sent back a parcel to Amazon (ridiculously hard to get a phone holder that fits the car!) then did a bit of faffing about with clothes (didn’t quite get as far as sorting out stuff for the charity shops when they reopen or vacuum packing away my winter coats, both jobs which are on my to do list).
Had a cheeky fish finger sandwich lunch then headed to V’s to pick up the bike and head out for my ride with hazelh and mrhazelh. Glorious weather-again!-and the cycle to South Queensferry went very smoothly....we’re so lucky to have such great cycle routes and even better to be with people who don’t have to stop and check the map all the time! Saw some lovely lambs and Shetland ponies, Dalmeny house and parkland and the beaches all looking gorgeous, and we had a welcome Orkney ice cream when we arrived...delicious!
After a brief break we headed home....I had to walk up a couple of the steep hills but otherwise fine. We enjoyed a lovely cup of tea and some chocolate in their shared garden at the end of the day...identifying birds and birdsong and chatting about daft acronyms we’ve invented over the years (AOSOMF* is the one I remember making up and using a lot in my youth!)
Hard to get back on the bike again for the last half hour back to V’s but I managed it and then she and I sat and chatted in her garden for a while. Headed home...via a fish and chip shop...and when I got home I practically inhaled it I ate so quickly! They’d got my order wrong (how did I end up with 4 fish fillets?! - perhaps because I’d had to shout my order from the doorway with a mask on!) but it was just what I’d needed after the 50km ride.
Collapsed onto the sofa and managed to finish the back of A’s jumper while I watched some nonsense. What a splendid day!

*An Onion Smell On My Fingers....don’t ask why that seemed to be a very useful phrase to abbreviate in my 20s as I have no recollection, but the acronym has stuck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.