Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Orange Tip #3

Neither of us were in the mood for gardening today and we don't normally go out much at the weekends, but I just fancied going birding. So, buoyed by our success on Thursday at Frodsham Marshes, we decided upon a repeat walk, but much later in the day. We arrived just before 3pm and were happy that there were on 2 cars parked up. 

It was another successful day - we didn't see or hear as many little birds at the start of the walk as on Thursday, but we did locate our first whitethroat. There were many more butterflies on the wing than Thursday - plenty of tortoiseshells, peacocks and green veined whites were flitting about and then we started to see orange tips. Now trying to get a shot of an orange tip is always a challenge for me as they don't stop much. I literally had time for 2 frames before this one was off again, but I was quite happy with it. They are such pretty butterflies. We also saw a pair of barnacle geese which was a year tick for me - I am now up to 99 species so far. What will be the 100th I wonder? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.