a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Holly Jolly Day

Cathy called excitedly to me, from the bottom of the garden this morning.  I was sunning myself on the garden bench (hard at it after an enjoyable evening in the pub garden last night).  The cause of the excitement was a small blue butterfly - i.e. a Blip opportunity!  Everything told me that by the time I got back with the camera the butterfly would have flown away, but I raced indoors to try to get it anyway.

The little blues seem to be quite flighty at the best of times, so I decided that there was no point trying to get close enough to use the macro lens, opting instead for something with a longer reach.  Needless, to say no sooner did I get back than the blighter flew off....

I waited around in the same spot anyway, as sometimes insects will return, and to my delight the holly blue fluttered back and settled for a few seconds before flying off again.  I've had to crop this significantly given the lens choice, but I've not altered the colour at all.  In today's lovely sunshine it really was this blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.