The Falls of Leny

Despite living in Scotland for over 30 years I had never visited the spectacular Falls of Leny outside Callander and only fifteen miles away.
 
Well that was rectified this afternoon.
 The Falls are an important gateway between the Highlands and Lowlands and remain one of Scotland’s hidden gems.
 
It’s worth the awkward descent down a steep narrow path and I was glad I had taken a ski pole with me.
 
The falls are popular with wild swimmers, canoeists and a few enterprising lovers who have placed love locks on the railings (se extra.)
 
The absence of any signposts is deliberate, I suspect, in order to discourage people because the path is  in serious need of an upgrade.  ( see extra) .This is a pity because it could be a major tourist attraction.
 
.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.