Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The A-Team

I had my follow up today with my surgeon who is now going to turn me over to the care of oncology. I will still see her one more time next month for what will hopefully be a final sign-off on the surgery. I’m not sure if I have mentioned how much I like her - she’s a straight shooter with both compassion and a sense of humor. I think you can see the twinkle in her eyes here.

Anyway, all good news on the tumor front - it’s Stage 1, they got it all, it’s only 10 on the Oncotype recurrence score (which means no chemo). Next up will be radiation and hormone therapy. And she also referred me to an allergist to get to the bottom of what caused the anaphylaxis during surgery.

After all the bird excitement in the yard yesterday, it’s been pretty low key today with only a couple of orioles. However, the Pileated woodpecker has been stopping by for suet at random times which is pretty exciting. She’s definitely a show-stopper.

Now I’m off to call someone who was just diagnosed with the same brain tumor I had 13 years ago. Hopefully I can alleviate some of her fears.

Be kind, stay safe - your choice on chocolate!

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.