Polling day

An early start. 6:15 at the village hall to set up and opening at 7

As usual a great turnout with lots of happy voters. It was so nice to see all the regulars. However the day had a few memorable events. Within one hour I had to sort out a complaint about a party leaflet put through someone's door, a long queue of voters, for the first time ever, observer's from the electoral commission (scary!), the police visiting, a voter who needed the help of her husband. Phew! What an hour. Then later I thought I saw a voter put his ballot paper in his pocket. I challenged him and he was eventually willing to deface it and put it in the ballot box. Although we are always busy it's pretty uneventful! Great day, and lovely to catch up with my poll clerks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.