randomgirl

By randomgirl

Stitchwort growing in the roadside

These lovely little flowers appear every year at this time, growing in the grass verge and in amongst the old stone wall along our road. I've always liked the pattern that it's delicate petals make. It looks like there are more petals, but there are actually only five on each flower - it's just that each petal is divided in two.

I think they are also called 'Star of Bethlehem' and quite a few other different names, but apparently it used to be used in herbal remedies for when you have a 'stitch' in your side....hence the Stitchwort name. I only just found that out!

My second extra was a strange sight I saw on my walk round the block today. Not sure how or why these ended up on the tree?!.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.