Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chipper 25

The 25th bird on my visual yard list - a Chipping Sparrow.  Last year, I nearly forgot to blip this species and only managed to get one very late in the season.  So, this year I figured I would get a jump on it.  There are at least two pairs nesting somewhere on our property - with some luck I will be able to see their fledglings in the near future.  They are dainty little sparrows, about the size of a chickadee/coal tit, with a trilling song of chip notes.  

When I woke up this morning the first thing I heard outside the bedroom window was the song of the oriole.  What a lovely way to start the day.  And he has been singing off and on most of the day.  Dare I hope he is trying to attract a mate?  We'll see.

Hubs is working from home today, so to give him some quiet, I decided to head out for a walk.  I ended up walking a couple of miles in two different locations - lovely weather and decent bird activity.  Mostly it was just nice to be out and moving.  My hip has been bothering me for several months and I know I need to have it looked at, but frankly I just don't have the heart for it right now.  Soon.

Not much new to report today.  I'm feeling okay, my emotions are under control, and I'll consider that a win.'

Oh, and I decided that I am going to keep a visual record of my yard bugs this year, too.  Not sure why I never thought to do that before.  Spiders will be included, natch.

Stay safe.  Be kind.  I had a divine piece of dark chocolate with spices in in (Hotel Chocolat, thanks to Bootneck and the Garden Fairy).

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.