carliewired

By carliewired

To the Ferry

A country road that
is usually enjoyed, but
now scarred and disturbed

I was late leaving the house today. Had a marvelous sleep, finally. After a weekend of summer weather, a cold front is moving by bringing rain and cool temperatures. It was only 7 C when I left the house at 10 AM. 

I made the McLure Ferry as my goal. It's about 20 miles north of my house on Westsyde Road. I wasn't sure if it would be running today as the level of the river is up. I saw some flooding along the North Thompson River today. Also saw lots of irrigation systems running. It's always a contrast to see both in adjoining fields. 

I had to stop to admire the 6 foot rooster. He's been there for some years now and is looking a bit faded these days. I've always been curious to know who would choose to plant it at their entrance way. 

I stopped to look across the river at the little bridge to Jensen Island. 

I was rather shocked to see the scarring through the north valley done by the pipeline development. There is a huge amount of heavy equipment working and moving along this route. They've cut a 50 to 100 foot swath through the valley, carving up fields and pasture lands. In the little community of Black Pines they've cut through front yards and back yards. I felt I should take photos for historical interest but I just could not make myself stop to do so. It is all ugly to me. I thank our Prime Minister for all of this. 

I moved on to the McLure Ferry which crosses the North Thompson River. This little ferry was started in 1890 to serve the farmers and ranchers in the area. Today, it's operated by the ministry of transport in our province. It holds all of two vehicles and takes 5 minutes to make the crossing. It is a reaction ferry which has a cable and is propelled by the currents of the river. You drive up, honk for service if it's on the opposite shore and drive on when instructed. It's free. Today, the water was lapping onto the ramp making me a bit nervous. It doesn't run when the river is flooding or the river is freezing. I got over to McLure and turned south back towards home. 

When I was almost home, I turned onto a road with a rail crossing. I got held up there for almost 20 minutes as the freight train stopped on the tracks as it heading for the Kamloops Junction. It was a long train with many tanker cars. Twice, it rolled backwards before moving forwards. 

At home I opened a fabulous box of quilting fabric I'd ordered online. What a surprise to find a box of cottons packaged like fine lingerie. Items were wrapped in tissue and it had a thank you note, business card and little treat included. I felt very special!

I'm making a big pot of soup and doing laundry on this damp afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.