Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Happy Birthday!!

23.03.21
Our beautiful Miss E is thirteen today.
As she will never fail to point out she was actually thirteen at 4.07am. 
I can't believe it's thirteen years since 4.07am on that snowy Easter Sunday morning. Twenty eight long hours since I felt the first contractions, and about two minutes away from the emergency Caesarian they'd taken me into theatre for. The consultant said I could have two attempts with the ventouse. Mr K was in scrubs, the anaesthetist was ready, I'd had a spinal so couldn't feel a thing. I pushed when they told me to push and out Miss E finally came on the second go.
And then I was a mum.
It's not always been the easiest job for me, and Miss E and I have had our ups and downs.
For years people have said in that way they do "Just wait til the teenage years..... " and I always replied with a laugh that it couldn't be any worse. And I meant it!
I was right and I was wrong.
It isn't worse. It's so much better! Our teenager is ace!!
Miss E has grown into a lovely, funny, caring girl. Young woman I should say.
She's happier in her own skin; more thoughtful and considerate than I ever would have imagined a few years ago; funny, clever, mature, responsible; good at cooking, amazing at photography, unbelievably fabulous at writing.
Just all round wonderful really!!!
In my completely impartial opinion.
She had a lovely day today. Presents first thing - her favourite was a new grey rucksack to replace the one she used for school and was devastated when the zip broke.  It was discontinued and unavailable everywhere and all the - to us, virtually identical bags - were declared "alright" (in that tone that says "a bit shit really!") but not the same. 
Mr K managed to track one down in America and get it sent over. The bag was a few dollars, the shipping was many, many more dollars!! Worth it though to see the look on her face.
We did realise we should have ordered a few because the bags were only $10 and the shipping would have been the same. Oh well!
Nana and Papa came round once Miss E was home from school to give the birthday girl her presents and cards. It was lovely to see them. Hopefully this'll be the last of the doorstep birthdays!
Dominoes for dinner and the obligatory blowing out of candles before bed.
Happy Birthday baby girl, we couldn't love you more xx
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.