peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Frustration Sunday...

I suppose it was inevitable after a near perfect Saturday.

Firstly the weather was decidedly chilly in the early morning which wasn't meant to happen.

Nonetheless I rocked up to the tennis club eagerly anticipating my first game for three weeks. Sadly it was all over for me in less than half and hour.

Long suffering followers of this page may recall that I had surgery back in 2015 to repair damaged tendons in my ankle. Whilst the operation was largely successful I was told at the time that one tendon in particular would never be 100% right. In the sixth game of the first set I went up for a smash (I probably should know better at my age) and successfully buried it for a winner, however as landed I felt the sickening stabbing sensation of "that tendon" catching against my ankle bone. Game over!

This hugely uninspired shot shows the offending limb resting on an extemporised ice pack. At least by that point the sun had broken through and I was able to sit back with a cup of tea and watch the others playing on. Inevitably my ankle will be just fine for the return to work tomorrow morning.

ps  - as predicted yesterday Surrey closed out a comfortable innings victory against Gloucestershire, so it hasn't been all bad news today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.