Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Foxy

Another wet, cold day.  I didn't last all that long outside because the chill seemed to get into my bones.  But I did spend an hour on the deck, under our gazebo canopy, watching birds come and go.  And when I caught motion at the edge of the woods, I was surprised to see this very wet fox.  Two clicks and then he/she disappeared into the woods in heavy vegetation.  The image is heavily cropped but I rather like the way the fox is partially obscured by the vegetation.  I hope the chipmunks stayed hidden...

My other two fave shots of today, both blue jays, can be seen HERE (imitating a wren) and HERE (utterly waterlogged)

A nice long talk with my parents this morning.  Like New Jersey, Oregon has dropped the mask mandates indoors for those who are vaccinated.  Which pretty much means that everyone is going sans-mask now.  And like me, mom and dad and slowly getting comfortable with not always wearing a mask.  We've all been doing it for so long that it seems like second nature now.  

I was feeling tired and lazy today so after a few hours of this and that, I decided to lay down in our comfy bed with the mattress heater on and cats close at hand.  I mostly just read.  Thanks to blipper wildwood for recommending Red-tails in Love to me - it's just a really delightful book and I am enjoying it very much.

The starlings are still around and making such a racket.  I may take the suet feeders in for a day to try to get them to move along.  Or I may just wait them out, stocking up on more suet.  

Tomorrow I am going to start the next regimen of cancer treatment, estrogen-blocking drugs.  Side effects are many and varied but most of the more annoying ones are said to show up within the first 24 hours, so I will be able to find out pretty quickly how I react.  Meanwhile, I continue to use vast amounts of Aquaphor on my radiated area.  Cancer is yucky.

Hoping for slightly better weather tomorrow.  In the meantime, stay safe, be kind ... and I'm thinking chocolate with fruit today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.