JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 150: apple blossom

It's been a glorious day, perfect blue sky and a bit of warmth in the sun, though still not enough to take my cardigan off for long. I managed to spend much of the afternoon outside, sowing more beans, separating some brassica plants from overcrowded modules into little pots to grow on a bit before planting out, tidying (which never has much impact, but I guess it would be worse if I didn't), picking some of the rhubarb, which is threatening to overrun the onions, and then wandering round the orchard enjoying the blossom in the early evening light.  Of course I would rather not have spent fifteen months at home shielding my daughter from a pandemic; but the narrowing of my focus to home, garden and a few quiet local walks, and the act of photographing its details each day, which began some time before I committed to Blip, has helped to sharpen my observation and made me more appreciative of what I have in this beautiful valley in the North Downs. I hope I will retain this increased attentiveness to what is around me in the coming weeks, as we embark on our cautious re-emergence into the wider world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.