My Daily Life in Photo's.

By Mothermudd

Metal Chest

We found this in the Church my daughter & I visited today.
I could have blipped the Church, the Stained Glass, the Alter, Graves or the Organ, but I felt this may have been interest to you.
I took a photo of the notice about this chest, so I'll write what was written;-
"This Iron bound chest is thought to have been made locally & some authorities would date it as early as the 14th Century. It was probably used for the storage of parochial & manorial records, monies & other valuables".
We went to the Church to find my Step-Grandfather's grave & luckily we found it; 2 pairs of eye's were better than one. :) We found it, but sadly the whole churchyard seems to be sinking & his gravestone has sunk to one side. A difficult area to manage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.