Shamrock

This teapot dates from 1926-1946 (third black mark), from the renowned porcelain factory at Belleek in Ireland (the Emerald Isle).

There is a family story behind it: apparently my paternal grandfather (he born in Yorkshire) was employed at some time in Ireland and bought a teaset of this shamrock design. My father was expected to inherit it but it disappeared from my long-widowed Grandmother's possession before she died - we have a fair idea what happened but no proof.

Many years later my mother came home from a local jumble sale with a large milk jug in this design (too large to have been part of a tea-set) which raised our alert levels to snap up any others that passed our way. Indeed, I found a small jug in a little antique shop to give him one Christmas, the purchase making me late for college.

But the pot pleased him most, being an exact copy of that his mother had, of which he had been cheated. I gave it to him on my wedding day, to say thank you for his care in the previous 25 years.

Thus it, and the rest of the assorted pieces, came to me and have been added to over recent years. They still don't make up a teaset but are a pleasing collection.

I submit this for the Tiny Tuesday challenge for 'green', many thanks to PinkHairedLady for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.