Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Museum Day, Tapas And Balloons - Bristol

Tuesday
After the chilly day yesterday it was back to sunny and warm today. It was my last full day in Bristol and I had booked into the M Shed Museum this afternoon. The museum showcases Bristol’s history and people. I looked around several sections including the exhibit that has received quite a bit of media attention in recent days - the display of the statue of Edward Colston, which had been toppled and thrown into the river last June during the Black Lives Matter protests. The exhibit is the start of a ‘conversation’ and residents are encouraged to fill out a survey to help decide the future of the statue.

After spending most of the afternoon in the museum it was good to get out into the sunshine again. I browsed through a few small shops including this beautiful cheese shop. I bought a couple of pieces of cheese, hoping to eat later on as I was going to have an early dinner.

I had been wanting to try The Olive Shed tapas restaurant near the waterfront and the museum, and today was the day!  The location, the atmosphere and the food ticked all boxes for me, but there was way more food than I really needed!  So worth it though. Everything was delicious!  The cheese will have to wait until I get home - I was too full!  

Bristol is known for its hot air balloons, especially with a balloon festival in August, and I saw several on my way ‘home’ to the Campervan. Maybe I should think about that. A balloon ride is definitely on my bucket list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.