pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Daddy

Up until a couple of years ago, I always referred to myself as a lucky man.

The truth is that I have been ridiculously lucky for the longest time, but it has taken me until now to realise that I was focusing on the wrong thing which created that feeling of good fortune. It started just over 16 years ago, was topped up 8 years after that with the final tranche being delivered in record time 18 months later.

It’s not “my” weekend with the offspring, but with it being Father’s Day, special protocol was observed and they were deposited with me mid-afternoon for the remainder of the day. They’ve played, laughed, argued, fought and driven me mental, but they are mine and though they have robbed me of a hairline (it’s not genetics, it’s THEM), I am such a ridiculously lucky man to be a father* to three lovely humans.

*Aka. “Dad”, “Daddy”, “Taxi!”, “You There!”, “Waiter!”.

Special love to those thinking of the Fathers that are no longer with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.