Backup power

Yesterday, during a Teams meeting, the power was gone for about half a second. I've witnessed this quite a few times before when the house was still owned by my in-laws. During the short power outage, the cable modem rebooted but all the other equipment seemed to have survived. I missed a couple of minutes of the meeting, but more importantly it's not really that great for the network(ed) devices. I'm afraid it might destroy my network attached storage (NAS), so I took measures and ordered a UPS (uninterruptible power source): a power source that uses "normal" power when available but immediately switches to battery power when there's an outage. I don't know exactly how long the battery will last, but I'm estimating I've got about half an hour before the network goes without power. Best of all: it will send a signal to my NAS so it can shutdown gracefully before the battery power is also gone.

This won't help when there's an outage that also hits our internet provider's infrastructure, but short power dips like the one we had yesterday should not be a problem. In any case, it will protect the equipment that's attached to it from power dips and spikes.

I tested the whole setup by unplugging the UPS and the battery power took over instantly, without any interruption of our internet and local network connectivity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.