*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

One year

Can't believe it's a year ago since my dad passed away. I'm not sure anything prepares you for losing one of your parents. The last few weeks have been especially hard; a year since I last saw him, a year since I last spoke to him on the phone, his birthday, Father's Day... culminating in today.

Since 25 March (what would have been his 89th birthday) to today (a year since he died) I've been taking part in Running Down Dementia for Alzheimer's Research UK, the UK’s leading dementia research charity. I set myself the goal of 100 km thinking it would be a piece of piddle, but it wasn't. It has been far harder than I anticipated. I'm older, heavier, and much less fit than when I last went running and it takes far longer for me to recover. And (as always!) I left it right to the last minute to reach my goal. I didn't plan it that way, it just took me far longer than I thought it would! I've carried on despite having downhill knee in one, and then in both knees, then having shin splints and finally having a thigh/groin strain. It was worth it though - I've raised far more than I thought I would and am starting to see (and feel) the benefits of running regularly.

Thank you to everyone who has supported and/or donated. It's such a good cause, no one should have to go through the heartbreak of seeing a loved one's personality stripped away by dementia.

Alzheimer's Research UK 'Running Down Dementia Challenge' officially ends on 31 August so I'm going to continue to log my runs and accept donations up until then to see how many miles I can clock up. I'd love to double the distance and have a full 'Trophy Cabinet'.

Today's blip is of my dad receiving his medal from the Major after the final of the Hamburg and District Div 1 Challenge Cup in 1952. RAF Altona won 2-0 :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.