Philiphoto

By Philiphoto

Stained glass window detail. .

at Gloucester Cathedral.

The rain started to pour around noon so it was ideal weather for photographing cathedral interiors and especially for the small stained glass windows along the cloisters.

I have just had a diappointing experience at one of the few remaining camera shops. Knowing that I wanted to replace my Tamron 18- 270 lens with the latest smaller, lighter version, I waited to buy it from a real shop when I arrived in Cheltenham 2 days ago. The staff were welcoming and helpful and I left a happy shopper.

Sadly the lens turned out to be a real disappointment with soft focus on many shots and the worst barrel distortion I have ever seen. When I rang the shop, I was advised to bring it back and we could try another lens.

When I turned up hoping to change the lens from what was almost certainly a rogue example, the member of staff was bordering rude, implying I was at fault and refusing to even look at the glaring problem images. He simply refunded my money. Not a way to encourage further custom. So the internet looks a better bet and cheaper too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.