I hold you still

Bit of a Scottish-poetry theme running just now - there is a 'loose connection' between the 8 poets I'm currently in the middle of highlighting ... all to be revealed on Sunday, unless you can guess beforehand ;-)

For today, here's an old favourite, as taken from Edwin Morgan's 1997 collection, entitled: 'Virtual and Other Realities' ...

... as I'm sure I've mentioned before; I quite simply adore this short poem, which contains a message of loss, memory, hope and the deepest love; for a departed partner. In essence, a message about the eternity of it all. And somehow, Morgan encapsulates this in six short lines - a piece of sheer poetic genius:


The Glass
 
To love you in shadow as in the light
is light itself. In subterranean night
you sow the fields with fireflies of delight.
 
Lanarkshire holds you, under its grim grass.
But I hold what you were, like a bright glass 
I carry brimming through the darkening pass.

---

Edwin Morgan (1920 - 2010)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.