The Not Two Views Walk

I was in charge of today's routes and chose Orrest Head by popular demand, the view from which inspired Wainwright, famous for walking guides,  to make the Lakes his home. The plan included an extension  into the delightful Holehird Gardens for another magnificent view .  
But the bad hip is very sore today, in fact I was not sure I would be able to go on the walk at all.  I  set off for a gentle amble around Orrest Head with no intention at all of going to the top and certainly was not going to make it to Holehird. Luckily Philip here was not feeling up to hill climbing either and kept me company.
The "Greater Trochanter Pain Syndrome" leaflet recommends gentle exercise but what is gentle?  Obviously a 1km swim yesterday in Beacon Tarn does not fit the definition although I think its the breast stroke leg movement that's the culprit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.