You never know!

What a strange day! Quite calm and mild with a drizzly rain this morning, but at lunchtime the heavens opened and we had a downpour! Saved me having to water, I suppose, but I couldn't help thinking of those places which could do with rain more than we could. 

I was in Homebase yesterday hoping to find the potting compost which I liked, but it's not been in stock for weeks and now the labelled bay has been removed, so it's either sand at one extreme or shredded paper at the other! 

Once in a while they do stock some unexpected plants - you never know what might turn up! They've had a tray of three or four different species of Rhipsalis under the bench for several weeks, odd succulents with thin dangling stems - all labelled simply 'Rhipsalis', of course, which is annoying. I have them all, I think, but why does nobody else want them? Then yesterday I found a small group of what was labelled Digiplexis Berry Canary, looking like some kind of foxglove. They're hybrids of our native foxglove, Digitalis purpurea, and the Canary Island Isoplexis canariensis, which latter have now been 'proved' to be Digitalis, so the name on the pot is already out of date. They're supposed to be a hardy perennial, so we'll see. Correctly they should now be called Digitalis x valinii 'Berry Canary'. So here it is, though taken through the window!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.