Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On Angel Wings

We started the day with the need to call our GP. Mum has cellulitis of her right foot again. My last request to have standby antibiotics was rejected about 2 weeks ago and we have been waiting since for a phone appointment to discuss why we need them..

It was Monday and the duty GP was very busy. I waited for a call back until 1130 when I had to drive to Hexham to meet the other Marjorie for lunch in the Abbey refectory.  Of course, the call came while I was driving.

When I phoned the surgery, I had to wait again and it seemed as though I had been put at the bottom of the list. Finally, near to 3pm contact was made and the problem was solved. We are going to have back up antibiotics again after this infection is settled. We have lovely GPs but it feels as though it is hard to reach them at the moment.

Marjorie and I had a lovely soup and scone lunch. I felt distracted as I waited for the phone call, so I don't think I was a very attentive friend today.

We went into the Abbey to see the installation, On Angel Wings. It has been made to commemorate those whose lives have been affected by Covid 19. The origami angels were made by volunteers.

Back at home, I settled down to watch the tennis. It was a shame that rain stopped play. I felt very sorry for Emma Raducanu and Ajla Tomianovic, who had to wait for so many hours before coming on to the court. It was far too late to start a match (imho). Then Emma retired on medical grounds. How sad when she was riding on the crest of a wave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.