carliewired

By carliewired

Tranquille Wetlands

Waterfowl abound
in this temporary home...
in happy repose

~ carliewired

It was 16 C when I left the house this morning. It was a welcome relief from the heat, although we can expect to sizzle again this weekend. 

Late afternoon yesterday, a high wind came up and then a cooling rain. I stood on my deck for a few minutes to soak some of it in. No reports of lightning strikes. I am grateful. 

I stopped for my drive-thru breakfast to take with me to the Tranquille wetlands where the Thompson River meets Kamloops Lake. I love this area, especially in the morning. I can get a view of my mountains, Peter and Paul. They looked just a tad bleary this morning. We are still suffering with wildfire smoke in our valleys. 

My first surprise was finding two trumpeter swans having their breakfast. I was able to look down into the wetlands from my car. This early in the morning I stop right on the road and shoot out my car window.

 My second surprise was finding a trio of great blue heron perched on fenceposts in the wetlands. I wasn't able to stop right there. I had to drive along to find a spot to pull off the road and then walk back. As I approached, one heron departed immediately, then a second. I only managed to photograph the third before he too soared away over the fields. 

There were several American coots enjoying themselves in the wetlands. I know they nest there. 

My third surprise was finding a large battalion of Canada geese down below the road. They have gathered in large numbers there in safety. I was wondering where they all went. It seems they don't get up early. I disturbed their morning on the edge of the water. They left rather disgruntled when I walked by above them and they floated off across the wetlands making disagreeable noises. 

I sat in my car to eat my breakfast and enjoy the bird show. Then I left my quilted heart at the western extremity of the Rivers Trail. 

We might hope for a slightly cooler day with a high of 33 C and a chance of afternoon showers with a risk of a thunderstorm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.