Surplus

I save containers to make into geocaches but I have far too many of these. Had to clear some out as I couldn't move in the shed.
Had a stupid day today!
My broken toe was improving pain-wise but the physio who is treating my back and hip pain said she thought I should go o the walk-in centre and get it xrayed.
I was not convinced about going as being a retired nurse I know they don't do anything for simple toe fractures unless it's your big toe or it's a compound fracture so I rang the GP surgery to inform them what the physio advised and ask what they advised. They advised that I should go to the walk-in centre as it will get xrayed there and then.
This was not something I wanted to do but I thought I ahd better do as advised so I renewed the strapping, found some tolerable shoes (they are half a size too big), hobbled to the bus stop (cannot drive with the broken toe) and went.
I queued for reception as there was a chap complaining that he ahd been sent home without any treatment and ended up in hospital - not reassuring!
I was eventually sent to the waiting room and after a while went in for triage. Took off the strapping as requested and informed they do not xray toes unless it's the big toe or there is injury to the foot.as well etc.
I knew this!
She popped some strapping on (just like I'd done it) and advised me to do all the things I've been doing for the last 2 days since I broke it!
Aaaaaaargh! What a wasted journey.
However, on the bright side, I found the swelling has subsided enough to get one of my pairs of shoes on, I can hobble along (if I am careful) without too many accidental agonies and I got a bit of exercise I wouldn't have had otherwise.
I enjoyed the bus journey as I've not used my bus pass since before the pandemic and I popped in the supermarket for a bottle of my favourite wine before coming home.
Totally unrelated to this, I watched most of the England -Denmark match last night despite having no interest in football normally (wrong shape of ball) and enjoyed it. Terry watched it all - I only started watching after it was 1-1.
I'll be watching the match with Terry on Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.