Visiting

Spent the morning working on the dissertation GG sent me to comment on (why did I agree?!) and sorting out next steps for an appointment that's required unexpectedly. Then I dashed down to John Lewis to pick up A's birthday present (earrings) which look fabulous. Although it was dull and grey, I was very warm by the time I'd got home....very muggy.
I was just grabbing some late lunch when V arrived for us to set off to Pittenweem to see F&G. When we arrived we sat with tea and lovely lemon cake then wandered around the garden exploring all the beautiful plants (extra) and feeling jealous of the opportunities for pottering around it.
We switched to fizz and crisps and - still chatting and laughing - then got ready to go out for dinner at the Bistro on the harbourside. Delicious oysters (extra) as a prestarter, then I had fresh caught grilled mackerel and finished with chocolate cremeux. We continued the laughs and chat non-stop (think Phil Jupitus who was also there was not impressed that we were the noisiest table!) then had a wander through the little streets back for mint tea, cointreau and yet more chat. I actually can't really remember what we talked about - everything and nothing - but it was a lovely evening.
V, as the VIP guest (we were celebrating her retirement) was in the spare room and I was on the sofa bed in the sitting room with the remains of the wood burning stove glowing in the background as I drifted off....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.