CherryR

By CherryR

A happy win in the race against time

This morning I finished preparing Mr Paterson's Bench for refinishing. (see yesterday's blip) As the forecast last night said thunder and lightning by lunchtime. I found a large bit of black polythene to tuck it up until the weather improves, BUT by elevenses the sun was out so I thought I'd risk the first coat. Each time I looked at the forecast the storm was later in the day. In the end I managed all 3 coats of woodstain and the black Hammerite on the metal. 
The thunder and lightning has now disappeared from the forecast altogether with rain promised overnight. I do hope it arrives as this is the first evening for weeks that I haven't watered all my new plants and seedlings. 
The bench looks marvellous and fit for many more years of chatting. As I was painting I noticed that the vine leaf motif is very similar to the decoration on my much more modern garden chairs, which are a mere 25 years old. They are doing well considering they have spent all that time out of doors all year round in Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.