A place in the sun . . . . .

 . . . . . is what this plant needs. Aloë striatula is a fairly hardy succulent from Lesotho. Some years ago while visiting Tresco in the Isles of Scilly I bought a packet of seed from which I grew several plants, planting them out on a sunny bank at Arduaine where they grew for several years - they were still there when I retired 5 years ago.

A couple of years ago I decided to try them here and bought three plants by mail order. I potted them up today and may plant them out next year. While checking on their country of origin I discovered, surprise, surprise, that they were no longer called Aloë, as they have been for millennia, but are now to be known as Aloiampelos striatula. I don't even know how to pronounce it!

A warm day today after a cool start. I decided to do my usual round of litter picking and as it was rather cloudy this morning I put on a pullover - big mistake! By the time I got home I was roasting. I have to admit that although I was out for two hours I must have spent almost half of that chatting to people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.