Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

History...

I thought I'd do something completely different today. Thanks to Skip for giving me the idea to blip jewelery.

This ring set was my great-grandmother's, Chloe Houle. She was born in 1883 and married the love of her life, Albert around 1904, making these rings over 110 years old. Albert died many years before Chloe but she never remarried and wore these rings until she passed in the 1970's. Her rings went to my mother, who in turn gave them to me, again in the 1970's. I kept them in a safe box until I finally met the love of MY life, Willie. I asked him not to buy me an engagement ring because I wanted to wear my great grandmother's - it would be, always and forever, my "something old". And it made for some good jokes about how I was the best bride ever since I came with my own engagement ring!

I have my own wedding band, but I do wear hers often on my right hand - I like the simplicity of it, as well as the history.

As for the photo - focus was a beast and I still didn't get it right, but this will have to do for today. I set it on a small table in front of the window. Tried it with flash, but didn't like it, so went with natural light. I cropped this, but nothing else. I used my 4x close up filter on the 28-300 lens, camera mounted on a tripod to accommodate the slow shutter speed.

I'd love any suggestions on how to get the focus better, or anything else that you think could improve this. As most of you know, this is waaaayyyy outside my comfort zone, so any/all critiques and suggestions are very, very welcome. If it doesn't have feathers, fur, eyes or a stamen, I'm a bit lost! :)

Today was my last day in Physical Therapy - yay! I see the surgeon again Monday for the "all clear" at which point I will return to my regularly scheduled life. Hubs will be home from his trip tomorrow night - another "yay!" Tonight, I plan to watch the final episode of Season Three of Downton Abbey - I can't wait to settle in and see what happens.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.