Bed

Some time ago my daughter decided she wanted a new bed.  Although well past her teens, she chose a typical teenager's bed, with plenty of storage for all her belongings.

I had been hoping for a Sunday morning lie-in, but IKEA chose to deliver the bed at 7.15 this morning.  We didn't start constructing it until after lunch.  The fact that it took us 25 minutes just to unpack all the bits from the multiple cardboard boxes should have been a warning.  It took the rest of the afternoon to put the bed together.  It wasn't particularly difficult to do - just a complex design, the most complex piece of flat-pack furniture I have ever constructed.  The graphical instructions were remarkably clear and we managed to follow them pretty well - until I missed a page, which meant that I had to take the drawers apart again after they were finished in order to insert the dowels which I had left out.

I'm glad to report that my daughter is delighted with the end result.  I hope she gets a good night's sleep on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.