Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

You Can Do The Math

I was XXVI when Buffalo Brother got married.  They've been married for XLI years.  Or, I was XVII when I graduated from High School and my L year reunion is next summer.  Okay, I will make the math easier. I was born on this day in MCMLIV.

I heard heard from my brothers and some friends. Reno brother told me he got a haircut in honor of my birthday so I told him I wanted a picture, but my SIL had to be giving him bunny ears. It was funny. Had another nice chat with Albuquerque brother, too. We seem to be chatting more often lately. I also got calls from my friend WVgirl and a college buddy with whom I've kept in close touch since graduation in MCMLXXVI. She and her hubby are talented singers and sang happy birthday to me in harmony.  She still sings with a swing band in the Minneapolis area.  When we were in college, she promised to sing at my wedding. I saved her some travel expenses.

The servers at the deli bought my lunch and I coerced another person into treating me to Dairy Queen this evening. I'm a cheap DQ date because I always get a mini blizzard.

The blip shows my two gifts. I heard from my cousins in Los Angeles who sent me a photography crystal ball.  I was just messing with it for the first time here. The other is a wooden hummingbird puzzle from Albuquerque bro. There's a way to fasten it when you're done and hang it. The box is really cool, too. The hummingbird is carved in the box.  He wanted to send me something but was at a loss.  After his fiancee (I love her already) asked him what my favorite things were he had to think about it a while. Then he said...birds? They know me so well!  I might have to write my own obituary.  :-)

More than any gifts, the calls are what make me happiest.

As I get older, I sometimes stop and think about all of the people I've lost along the way...
Maybe my job as a tour guide wasn't such a good idea after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.