Tuesday

A lot has happened!

The air ambulance helicopter attempted to land directly in front of our house last night! In my panic, I fell on the stairs and bashed the hematoma I still have from falling downstairs 3 years ago. Nice, bigger painful lump there now.

The helicopter then landed in the field directly behind the houses opposite. Next, we saw people seemingly search with torches. I videoed the copter leave and we are still none the wiser as to what was going on!

This morning, we could not get into the club because a member of staff who had not been here since the beginning of 2020 due to CV19, used an old key which broke in the lock. The locksmith arrived from Melksham so we had to put off members arriving. Those that come by taxi could no longer attend because their taxis were booked elsewhere later in the day. So a smaller turnout by lunchtime.

The older end of our road was built on the site of Devizes Prison. Channel 4's, The Big Dig, are arriving on 7th September to dig up some gardens and the circle at the top of the road. Hugh Dennis is presenting. I'm working all next week so will miss the excitement but there could be a passing photo opportunity.

John Girvan, local historian and neighbour, will feature. He's just given me a copy of his book, hence today's photo. Executions took place just up the road from me. John gave me a couple of sticks to hold over the site and the sticks went nuts. Really gave me the shivers. (Water divining rods?)

Not seen Clive yet today so do not know if there is news on his Dad. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.