JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Lady Anstruther's Tower.

Maybe I'm getting into the way of early rising.  It was a gloomy and overcast start to the day but I got organised, fed the birds and breakfasted, reading the news and doing the crossword then went off to the recycling with the holly.  Came back to the sofa to do some more reading then went into the garden to weed.  I was going to hoover but chickened out.  Likewise to hanging pictures. The book on my new camera arrived so that got my attention. It's short and concise and simply lists all the controls and all the options they give you with some hints, tips and advice.  My brain scrambled after a while and I went off to Ardross Farm Shop sooner than I intended.  I wanted to buy lamb but it's not in season yet so I contented myself with beef, chicken, bacon(all local) and several Cook meals.
Afterwards I went to Ruby Bay at Elie feeling there wasn't much chance of a decent photo and surprised myself by walking as far as the lighthouse. It's a short walk but further than I've managed for a good while.  Couldn't manage as far as Lady's Tower but at least it gave me a reasonable photo.  It was built in 1770 for Lady Janet Anstruther. She was the daughter of a Scottish merchant renowned for her beauty and her reputation as a flirt.  Before she went skinny dipping she sent one of her servants into Elie to ring a bell  so residents knew to stay away.  I wonder if they did.  I bet there were a few Peeping Toms from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.