Bakkeveen sunrise

At 5.00 am I was waiting for Peter at the bus stop close to my home.
We're going to capture the sunrise in Bakkeveen in the heather. It turned out to be very misty, something that wasn't mentioned in my weather app, but what a pleasant surprise!
Ron and Herman would come too. We haven't been photographing together for a long time, so it will be great to sea them again.
Just before 6 am when Peter and I arrived at the parking I received a message from Herman asking if I had heard something from Ron.
Herman had been waiting for almost 30 minutes at a carpool parking, but still no sign of Ron.
That's not how we know Ron. Something must have gone wrong. His phone switched to voicemail, so I couldn't reach him either.
Herman and I agreed he would drive on by himself and Peter and I would go onto the heather to find a good spot.

We searched and walked and soon discovered the heather was blocked by a new built fence. We were not supposed to go any further. Hmmm.. first no Ron, now this. what kind of day would this be?

Then my phone rang again. Herman. He was nearby and asked where we were. I explained and within minutes he joined us.

Soon after that a message from Ron came in. He overslept and had missed his alarm clock completely. What a pity, but we were glad it was just a case of oversleeping and nothing more serious. He decided to capture the sunrise near his house.
 
Relieved that all was well, we walked on and found a spot where there was no fence, so we went onto the heather anyway. We heard voices in the distance and soon discovered 5 other photographers. After a quick goodmorning we spread out and each of us went his separate way. Away from the the group of 5.
By then the sunrise kicked off for real, and what a sunrise this was. Fantastic!

Around 08.30 we went to another location nearby, the forests of De Slotplaats. Mainly to bridge some time until the restaurant was open at 10.00 am. In fact I captured some nice images in the forest as well. A nice bonus.

The real bonus came when the cappucino's and coffee arrived in tandem with a delicious monchou-cake in a glass jar.

Around 10.45 we all went home.
What a great way to start a Sunday!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.