Along the Tracks

 Just a bit of cloud
can give some colour and some
interest to dawn

~ carliewired

I was out the door just at 6 AM. The temperature was a very pleasant 12 C, and calm with a some cloud on the horizon. 

I decided to pick up a coffee at a drive-thru before crossing the bridge. The line-up was moving at a snail's pace this morning. I suspect they are short-staffed. 

At the end of the bridge I turned west onto Mission Flats with hopes it would be quiet along that road at this hour. To my surprise, there was a parade of trucks going into the pipeline holding area. It seems that workers arrive in their own vehicles that park there for the day. They soon head out in work trucks and vans that belong to the project and head up the hill. I try to stay out of their way. 

I was at the end of the Mission Flats Road before sun up. I spent my time between the Canadian Pacific Railway tracks and the edge of the Thompson River. I love watching the light come up and spread around the valleys. 

I turned for home and caught a coyote trotting along the tracks on my right. I wheeled onto the shoulder of the road and rolled down the passenger window to get this very poor shot of him. I am always delighted and surprised to find wildlife within a mile or so of the downtown here. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a projected high of 26 C. 

I will be home puttering around for the day. The sewing machine might get some attention. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.