Marionb

By Marionb

Back to the Marsh....

This morning I did my civic duty and cast my ballot at the advance poll for our upcoming federal election on September 20. An election in a pandemic? Whose idea was that? One difference the pandemic has made is that the number of polling stations has shrunk. Because the schools are now back in session for the year, and because of the restrictions of COVID, the schools cannot be used as polling stations. I thought that might mean long line-ups, so I decided to get the deed done before the rush. Good choice. It was easy peasy - no line up at all..

Afterwards, to celebrate, I went down to the marsh to remind myself why it is important to vote...in ANY  election...like making sure we elect people who will protect our fragile environment and  keep their paws off our wetlands!

I have been taking photos of this marsh regularly since joining Blip last February and am amazed at how each time it looks different, especially from season to season. Today? A sea of green vegetation in what was water in the spring. Endless yellow flora..with a dash of violet..Is this the same place? Lovely.

Just a couple of notes...First - thinking of neighbours in the USA on the 20th anniversary of 9/11...Second, cheering for Leyla but am in awe of Emma! Good luck to both of them ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.